The Hustle: Fails on all Fronts!

Why, just why? If you want to see Dirty Rotten Scoundrels just watch the original 1989 version because this was just not worth seeing! All they did was flip genders and update the con for the times. While Rebel Wilson is a phenomenal actress the script the gave her just did not bring the laughs. Steve Martin got more with less. During his scenes as the imbecile brother he had iconic moments that my husband and I will still quote to each other and I saw that movie as a child. This time I mildly chuckled, if that. Anne Hathaway slept through the entire movie. I don’t know what has happen to her. She was a great actress in her teens and has just gotten hammier and hammier. All I can say is she has finally proven definitively it is possible to give nothing and overact at the same time. Script wise the jokes they added to the movie, added nothing. If you want to empower women, write original scripts that are actual good. And maybe have a woman write or Director!? Please don’t waste your money or your time and see this movie. I’m sorry this is coming out a week late, Hopefully I saved a few of you from a mistake.

The Hustle (US Release Date 5/10/2019)
Director: Chris Addison
Writers: Stanley Shapiro, Paul Henning, Dale Launer, Jac Schaeffer (Lone Woman writer involved
Cast: Anne Hathoway, Rebel Wilson, Alex Sharp, Tim Blake Nelson, Ingrid Oliver
Production Company: MGM
Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_j5hwooOHVE

Leave a comment